Life’s challenges were seemingly everywhere. And yet…I was smiling. I was cheerful. I was grateful. What? Was I crazy? I made a general goal to cultivate more resilience around the ups and downs of life, so I made a point of tuning my awareness toward the appreciation of life’s small delights. I was curious about what I would discover if I focused intentionally on the things that I appreciated. That morning, as I let wakefulness peel the dark back, I could smell my neighbor’s coffee brewing. The snow outside gently buffered the sounds of the world. I could sense my husband’s warm weight in the bed. I took a long moment to enjoy the muted winter light edging in around the slats of the window blinds. There was nothing particularly special going on, but I noticed that being grateful for little things was already lifting my dark thoughts. Difficulties were still present, but awareness of my gratitude was shifting my view, letting me see that everything was not dark and cold—in fact, many sights and sounds were quite lovely. Would you like to join me in a gratitude practice?

Gratitude Practice: Savor the Moment by Tapping into Your Senses

Read more

Misty Pratt February 17, 2022

Stephanie Domet, Elaine Smookler, Shauna Shapiro, Barry Boyce, Gina Rollo White, and Georgina Miranda October 25, 2022

Elaine Smookler October 27, 2022